Lordship Lane Primary School

A Love of Learning and the Perseverance to Succeed

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Foundation Stage at Lordship Lane Primary School



At Lordship Lane Primary School, we greatly value the importance of the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) in providing a secure foundation for future learning and development.


There are 7 areas of development in the Early Years curriculum

 3 Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


 All areas are important and interconnected

Learning takes place through carefully planned, play-based learning opportunities, both inside the classroom and also in our specially designated outdoor play area.


At Lordship Lane we have construct a curriculum that is ambitious and designed to give all learners, particularly the most disadvantaged and those with special educational needs and/or disabilities (SEND) or high needs, the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life.



The Early Years curriculum sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5-years-old. It's the first stage of a child's education.

At Lordship Lane we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework

The EYFS is aimed at supporting the learning and development of children from birth to five years of age. Nursery and Reception will cater for children aged between 3 and 5 years old. Play and more importantly, learning through play, is an essential part of the Early Years Foundation Stage.